The Spice of Success

If “failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor” (Truman Capote) how spicy do you like your success stories.

My Beginning

I just wrote about what’s not happening to me after writing 101, blogging 201 and now here I am in daily prompt. Whatever’s not accomplish prior won’t be enough reason to stop me. It’s time to dig myself deeper into the unknown. If I don’t go there no one will show me. Is this the way to success?

I remember turning to horoscopes making sure my activities coincide with the sun and moon in my path so success is on my way. Or conducting personal assessment test and psychological quizzes from magazines or books to see that whatever raw materials in my genes are the right ingredients for success. And anytime I discover myself to be of a certain personality with “negatives” I try to “switch” to another personality. Now that I am 55, I realized there is nothing I could do to switch whatever raw materials are in my genes, or wherever the stars, sun and moon are positioned in the sky.

At this age and whatever I’ve accomplished I would say there is nothing new, it is still hard work, intelligence, faith, and everything that everybody said about it who thinks they’ve been there. I can’t help it but I have to refer to some quotations from Summer Redstone who said “Success is not built on success. It’s built on failures. Its built on frustration. Sometimes it’s built on catastrophes”. At this time of my life, I am not done but would like to prepare myself for the worst. A year ago I discovered this passion for writing. The internet is the only medium I rely for any education I could get and going to school is definitely out of the question. Yesterday I was reading my morning journal and I see some changes in my writing. Today I am writing this. Tomorrow I will try another one.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/the-spice-of-success

What do you think?

