Circle of Five

 image

A writer once said, “you are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true which five people would you spend time with? In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Circle of Five.”

The cook. When I come home the first person I call for is mom. And most of the time she iS in the kitchen cooking. Mom and the cook two person rolled in one. Then I’d remember my empty stomach as I help her finish what she’s doing. While helping her our conversations would turn into gossip thus adding more spices into our meal.

The eater. When father comes home, the first person he calls is his wife. Who, incidentally is in the kitchen. Ready or not he sits in his designated spot and the meal will have to begin. His presence signals the start of all life. He is the symbol of fortress and the rock.  And before he gets to be one, he needs to eat.

The traditional mentors. The school was the first place I went when I left my house. Where I learned civilization, supplementing the things I learned from the cook and the eater. Where I learned discernment.

The Nontraditional mentors. Family. Do I have a choice?  Friends. I have a choice. I learned how to pray, that’s what I did.

My Angels. The people around me. Thanks to them.

 

 

 

What do you think?

