The Aquarium

image

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Study Abroad.” If you were asked to spend a year living in a different location, where would you choose and why?

So today I have a choice and I am held to answer a question. The only thing that I know is to live and breathe like a fish inside an aquarium. That’s a figure of speech. Let me go literal so as to answer this hypothetical question. So what if I choose to live like a fish inside an aquarium?

Lets say I am in an aquarium inside a pet store. Because I am living in a protected zone probably I won’t get so sick with my allergy like what I’m feeling right now. A voice woke me and asked me to get up (not so sure as to what it said) I resisted for a few minutes but I think my body obliges. My nose was so stuffed up I have to open my mouth to breathe properly like a fish does. The climate in a pet store is well controlled and monitored even a tiny mouse would live seven years without getting sick. Unlike the climate out here drastically changing every minute of the day like a woman scorned.

Even if someone takes me home as a pet, I would be well fed, well loved and protected. More so I need not worry about paying the bills. All I have to do is swim around in a bigger aquarium with lots of toys in it or a couple of seaweeds where I could hide and seek with all the other fish, then stare at people that taps on the glass, show them basic circus acts, like swimming upwards, downwards, sideways and wiggling once in a while.  I would also show them how I change color under the light that would elicit oohs and Ahhhhs  out of their lips. All I have to do is stay beautiful and swim around.

There is only one thing I need to do while being a fish. At night to pray and meditate that the cat  whose eyes are wide open and vigilant of my every movement won’t make the mistake of reaching its paws into me and into the aquarium. For one year.

One thought on “The Aquarium

What do you think?

