Forward Karma

anonymous, thanks for the. Image

anonymous, thanks for the. Image

Crestfallen and literally heavy I sat myself on the chair when I read the register, I gained a few pounds give or take a couple for my clothes, jacket and shoes. I wish to be in Kelly Clarsons’ shoes where I could say

“I just had a baby, didn’t you knew that?” neither could I  blame an inaccurate scale because I did it in my docs office. I longed the days when I was size four or even way back when I was skinny and long. My mother taught me how to eat everything that’s in my plate  and never foresaw that if I stayed skinny and emaciated  I could be an international model someday. So this is my karma. I’m not destined to be that model. Everything that I am today is a result of karma and there is no power to undo it.

Yet, I’m not giving up,  I go check my genes. When I look at my ancestral history I realized that there were a lot people in my family tree who made huge steps that influenced  the generations before and after me. My great grandmothers and grandfathers left their small hometown to find a better life for their offspring. I would remember stories about them risking life to put food on the table. If they failed or not only karma could tell.

“Let there be light”, a voice from millions of years ago was what I heard when I turned on the switch on my table lamp.  Ben Franklin, after trying to explain to us about electricity or Thomas Edison after inventing the first light bulb never lived  to see how far into the future  their karmic actions went. Just how far? Human intelligence has brought us to this day where we carry energy in our pockets so we can use everyday devices.

Granting I’m fat, but, today I have to get up and begin writing my story so the generations after me would learn that their karma is on the way.

This just in: Let’s pretend that science has proven that karma is a thing. Your words and actions  will influence what happens to you in the future. How will you change your way?  In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Karma Chameleon.”

 

 

What do you think?

