Slash and burn

image

I just cut 500 word on this topic, as in everything I just wrote. Slashed, burned, cut. As Stephen King would say “kill your darlings”. To begin a new one. Slashing and burning, an agricultural method where forest trees are slashed, dried, burned then allowed to get soaked under the rain to finally produce biomass  a nutrient rich compound for the soil ready for the next planting season. Nature’s natural way of healing itself. My farmer friends knew they don’t get good produce every year.

“One year for the apple, next year for the tree”.  So pleased with myself for the consistent blogging for a couple of days but today I’m a slash and burn farmer, with my finger as my scythe and the delete button as my fire.  All those drafts I’ve been saving and hoping to get back I’ve  extinguished in one tap. My working table is in bad shape, filled with everything else except paper and pen while  underneath is a teeming trash can with pieces of garbage on the floor. More papers inside an envelopes, big and small, on folders, short and long. Books and magazines on the table and shelves, waiting to be read. The clothes from yesterday splattered and hanged on the back of the chair and my shoes thrown in a corner like an unwanted child. The sheets and pillows on the bed huddled together like long lost friends. It’s time for me to pick up and begin another day.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Slash and Burn.” Write 500 words on any topic you like. Now remove 250 of them without changing the essence of your point.

What do you think?

