Washing Dishes

image

So, there are two ways to wash dishes: first is to wash dishes in order to have clean dishes and second is to wash dishes in order to wash dishes. What Thich Nhat Hahn pointed here if while washing dishes we’re hurrying to get the dishes out of the way as if they’re a nuisance , then we are not washing dishes to wash dishes. What’s more we are not alive during the time we are washing dishes. We are sucked away into the future – and we are incapable of actually living one  minute of life.

This is called multitasking. Opponents decried spreading yourself too thinly as multitaskers leaves task half done. Then I admit I’m guilty of multitasking only but not leaving task half done.  All my life I’ve been multitasking: dreaming while working and vice versa.

My dream alone won’t  stand by itself, as they say an idle mind is a devil’s workshop. And neither does work because working alone  leaves us tired, sad and lonely. Dreaming and working are inclusive it’s relevance emerges with each other’s presence. It feeds, grows and builds on each other. They’re like wheat and weeds, as soon as wheat sprouts from the soil, weeds follow soon.

My dream of being a writer while making money or making money while trying to be a writer is working out perfectly.

While filling my pocket, I get self satisfaction at the same time. It’s very rare experience  to get self fulfillment while filling the pockets. And it is not leaving task half done, in fact my self fulfilling act  gives me inspiration to actually living each minute of my life whether I’m dreaming or working.

Now, did I answer the prompt? Probably no, probably yes. I think I’m multitasking. Sucked away into the future.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Those Dishes Won’t Do Themselves.” What’s the household task you most dislike doing. Why do you think that is,  Is it the task itself or something more?

What do you think?

