Last Supper/Dinner?

image

Supper is a more informal meal at the end of the day after early dinner. Dinner seems to be the heavy meal, and  it should be four hours earlier to allow proper digestion. As I’m writing this, I just realize western  countries don’t have lunchtime. While those of us coming from the east, have breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks in between. And to top it off  we always have hot meals. We always have a mother or a sister that takes charge of the kitchen. And that tradition is handed down to younger siblings when they themselves learn how to cook.

I’m writing about a friend, who seldom takes me to dinner. When someone asks me about this, I felt shortchanged. But  thinking about it, eating out is something I’m not used to anyway. It’s an additional expense in the first place. And for a long time, my body is used to my kind of diet that an introduction of new diet makes it out of sync. I would rather cook and eat food that I made partly because I come from the east and  partly  if I eat out I’ll be off my diet. There was a time in my life I was eating out each Friday night, it didn’t take long for my size ballooning from 4 to 8.

I remember an Indian saying, “take care of your body the first fifty years and it would take care of you the next fifty years”.

——

Jesus appropriately celebrated his last supper with friends and family.

And  just like Jesus, I’ll have my last meal with family and close friends. It wouldn’t be in a restaurant dinner definitely and I expect the cook to be a family member. When that time comes, there’ll be no need  to worry about calorie counts, weight,  fat, trans fat, sweet or sugary food.

After supper, together with his disciples they went out to Mount Olives, spend quiet time and prayed.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Eat, Drink, and Be Merry….”

What do you think?

