www.mdellert.com

image

It’s easier to end a story with happily ever after, a simple story structure suitable just for kids who can’t handle complicated situation. Yes, we tend to be gentler and kinder to their young minds, protect them in whatever way we can. Exposing them to complicated situations simultaneously exposes us adults to a responsibility of explaining things we don’t know. We’re more afraid of answering questions so a happily ever after ending makes them go to sleep in peace at night.
Otherwise, it’s shut up. I know there’s no such thing. When I decided to embark on writing, I was aware it won’t be easy, but the level of difficulty was even beyond my imagination. Using a calendar to block out writing time as suggested by some writers wasn’t a new idea. Each time I use one, it ends up empty. So yesterday I pulled it back to try again. After filling it up, I went back to writing prompts. After hours and hours of staring at the prompt, nothing comes out. I can’t write. And so I went on reading. Still, nothing happened, I went to bed. I woke up earlier today, my muse is sending me a message, I log on the computer and found what I needed to know.
I went on Facebook, then meetups to look for write ins around and chanced upon http://www.mdellert.com. I read about his about me and some of his blogs. I read about his writing advice. Umm, something new to me.

GOAL SETTINg and GOAL TENDING according to Michael Dellert

Once you’ve set your goals, you have to be tending the goal, like tending a garden. Making sure that the “opponents” goals are not met at the expense of your own. I think it’s like weeding a garden, if you don’t, they grow faster than your vegetables or your flowers. I didn’t realize that I was giving way to my “opponents goals”. I knew I had to increase word count in my prompts, increase my writing time, or start the book I’m planning. I was hearing but not listening, brushing them off, like a kid, letting it pass from one ear to the other. Subconsciously, I was also blaming the non routinary nature of my job, the traveling back and forth or blaming myself that I’m not good enough, that I lack many things. And before I knew it, instead of looking at my writing goals, I was more worried about the books I should read or subscribe, write ins to go, etc., except for writing. I got it, Michael.
Probably, this is what they call resistance. How long was it with me? Two months? Three? But I persist. It was easy to give up. I went to bed early, to give myself sometime. As soon as I opened my eyes, I told myself, get up and write. Whatever I seek to do becomes the thought that fills the body and mind until I become one with it, then I discovered that what I’ve been searching has been here with me all along.

But it doesn’t end there, it’s not a happily ever after affair. There’s more I need to do.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Happily Ever After.”

7 thoughts on “www.mdellert.com

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 21 – “Wicked Business” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  2. I wish I had seen this earlier. Deeply humbled by your kind words. I’m honored that I could be of service, and I wish you good fortune in finding the life that feels right to you. If there’s ever anything I can do, please don’t hesitate to ask. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

