Obstacle Course

image

This Sundays first reading is about Elijah praying for death because he was weary, tired and exhausted,  choosing death over this journey in the desert (see bottom),

As I was in bliss the beginning of this  week (was that too much of a word?) with my blogging after I discovered bullet journaling via bluchickeninja’s blog where I learned how to keep track and organize  my activities, a bliss nipped in the bud before the week ended with one blog done, all other activities ex’d out. I was a baby left alone after a few guided steps.

You see, I minimized blogging to 3 times a week, hoping to relieve some built up stress for not coming up with post, but it’s Sunday now and this is only my second, if I finish this prompt before twelve midnight. I have to plot out  my other activities needing organizing like my personal goals: public speaking, i want to attain my competent leadership award this year and at least begin with my bronze manual on story telling, X; book writing, X; exercise, X; personal finance goals and targets, X. Writing in my bullet journal,  X.

After getting off from work  Friday I got busy shopping for a dress to a wedding the next day. An activity I’ve done  weeks before, picking out 10 dresses, going to the fitting room, taking my clothes ten times, putting on another ten times, looking at the mirror ten times finally  bought one. Today,  I’m back doing the same thing, picking 10 dresses, took off clothes ten times, put on another ten times, looking at the mirror ten times, then finally bought one.

The morning of the wedding we went back to return stuff, did some errands then at home after lunch getting ready for a six o clock affair that ended almost midnight. It was three days dedicated to a four hour affair.  Those were my accomplishments.

At the store I was consoling my non writing to buying pilot pens, to my boyfriends’ consternation, “we have a bunch of free pens given by banks, you don’t need that”! Explaining to him the sense of joy writing  in clear, fine point lines makes me feel sophisticated and accomplished doesn’t make any sense to him.

Just like Elijah, I’m complaining, whining, weary and tired trying to do what I need to do. I question the Lord: “I’m doing my best, how come nothing seems to work”.

The angel’s touching and ordering Elijah to get up and eat, gave  him strength to walk forty days and forty night to the mountains.

As much as I hate to admit it I’m feeling Elijah-ish, no better than my father, and my angel telling me ‘get up, else the journey will be too long for you’. Go back to your bullet journaling, go back to blogging, to writing,

Think about what you’ve wanted to accomplish last week. Did you? What are the things that hold you back from doing everything you’d like to do?  In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Obstacle Course.”

1 Kgs 19:4-8 – Elijah went a day’s journey into the desert,
until he came to a broom tree and sat beneath it.
He prayed for death saying:
“This is enough, O LORD! Take my life, for I am no better than my father’s. He lay down and fell asleep under the broom tree, but then an angel touched him and ordered him to get up and eat.
Elijah looked and there at his head was a hearth cake
and a jug of water.
After he ate and drank, he lay down again,
but the angel of the LORD came back a second time,
touched him, and ordered,
“Get up and eat, else the journey will be too long for you!”
He got up, ate, and drank;
then strengthened by that food,
he walked forty days and forty nights to the mountain of God, Horeb.

What do you think?

