Fear to Fail

is it timeToday is that day. A fear to fail I hope wouldn’t stay. It all began yesterday and the days before. My fear was what if I couldn’t come up with what I wanted to write? What if an unavoidable situation comes up? And stop me from doing what I want to do?

In raising my standards for success, I rechecked what I’ve accomplished, I saw I came short. I felt unsuccessful, useless and ineffective with my daily writing goals. Unsatisfied and remorseful I called myself irresponsible.

To free myself from liability and self condemnation, I cut short my daily writing goals into three times a week. Reasonable, attainable and achievable. I felt victory each time I wrote.

Yet, those fear of failure from yesterday and the day before were still there. They have never left me.

In an attempt to cover that fear, I did the things I feared the most, by not doing what I should have done. Like engaging in computer games, doing other activities other than what I want to do. I created my own unavoidable situation. I came up with other activities that hindered me from writing.

Here I am today, still in that same, exact state of fear to fail, again. Today.

What is the one thing at which you are its afraid to fail? In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Must Not Fail.”

3 thoughts on “Fear to Fail

  1. Sometimes we have to re-evaluate our goals and I respect your need to do so with your writing. Often there are other priorities and rightly so. Keep taking the step to meet your goals after being clear what they are. Nice reflection of your fear of failing.

    Like

What do you think?

